Versions of silat

Discussion in 'Silat' started by JKD guy, Nov 1, 2004.

1. JKD guy

JKD guy New Member

I am interested in silat. I have the Bob Orlando book, and it is very good. I also like Marc MacYoung, and he highly recommends silat as a practical self-defense/street martial art. My real question is, what is with all the various versions ? There is a silat school in the city where I live, and I will probably take lessons there. But is the style important ? For example, I have heard that there is "Dutch silat", etc.

I would appreciate your input, as I don't know much about silat. Thanks.

2. Wali

Wali Valued Member

Hi JKD guy,

What City DO you live in! :confused: Couldn't find it in your profile.

Cheers
    Wali

3. cjbots

cjbots New Member

Silat in CT?

Hello all,
    I am very interested in learning Pentjak silat. I have no former experience with martial arts. I have been looking in New Haven,CT area for a school with no such luck, can anyone help me?

thanks

4. JKD guy

JKD guy New Member

Bob Orlando

If you can't find a class, I would suggest Bob Orlando's great book "Brutal Arts of the Archipelago", about silat. Very good book with clear explanations and pictures. Very well explained, and his approach is pragmatic.

5. G-man

G-man New Member

Hey guys and gals, i'm looking for some kind of reference site about silat, to give me a better understanding of what it's all about and help me to see if it's the choice for me, anyone reccomend any? thanks G.

6. pesilat

pesilat Active Member

First, there are literally thousands of systems of Silat. "Dutch Silat" is something off a misnomer. There is Silat in the Netherlands but it comes from Indonesia. Indonesia was a Dutch colony until the late 1940s (the Indonesians began to revolt against the Dutch as WWII was winding down). Consequently, a lot of Dutch who lived in Indonesia trained in Silat. And, more specifically, many Dutch-Indonesians learned Silat from their Indonesian relatives.