Use & Learning of Pentjak Silat

Discussion in 'Silat' started by khafra, Feb 22, 2002.

1. khafra

khafra New Member

Anybody ever seen any form of Pentjak Silat used? I know there's plenty; I kinda wanted to learn the lion form when I noticed that the stances used look a lot like Spiderman, which is kinda cool. But then I decided that was a bit of a superficial reason to learn a martial art, plus I've never seen a teacher of the style, or even seen the style used.
    Has anyone else out there ever seen a demonstration of it?

2. pesilat

pesilat Active Member

I've been studying Pentjak Silat for 7 years. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of systems which fall under the name "Silat." It's a term that's used from Malaysia, down through Indonesia, and into the Southern Philippines. "Pentjak Silat" (or "Pencak Silat" - same pronunciation), though, usually refers to Indonesian systems. In the Southern Philippines they refer to it more commonly as "Silat" ... in Malaysia, they use the term "Bersilat" which literally means "to do Silat."

I'm a bit biased, of course, but what I've seen of Silat is pretty awesome.

My educated guess would be that it was a tiger form, not a lion form, that you saw. I say this for a few reasons. First, I've never heard of a lion form of Silat ... not a huge reason because there are hundreds, if not thousands, of systems of Silat I've never heard of. Second, and in my mind a more compelling reason, tigers are not indigenous to anywhere that Silat was developed. The animal systems I'm familiar with in Silat are tiger, monkey, bat, snake, and water buffalo (some try to mimic the animal, some are merely associated with the animal because of its characteristics). There are quite possibly more ... but I would guess that, as with these, they would be animals that are indigenous to the areas in which the system developed.