Tried wing chun today.

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by Kframe, Jul 18, 2015.

1. Kframe

Kframe Valued Member

Hey guys. I finally got off my bottom and visited a Inosanto affiliated school today. Now Saturday offeres a ton of class's, basically every thing on the list. I only had time for two of them. Wing chun and Kali.

Well I was not sure I would like wing chun but surprisingly I did. The schools instructor is certified in Wing Chun by Sifu Randy Williams.

After the simple bow in we did the sil lim tau form. Now I have never done forms before, so I struggled to keep up with it. However they went slow and I bumbled through it.

After that was probably the most enjoyable part of wing chun for me and that was the partner drills. We did a bit of everything, worked all the basic deflections(I cant call them blocks as that's not how they worked. At least I don't think) and strikes.

We even got moving pretty fast, as the deflections and simultaneous counters were easy to pick up on. These were just drills to teach movement and basics, not fighting application.

After the super fun partner drills, we did some line work. Which was basically practicing foot work. First it was just moving from left stance to right stance up and down the mats. Then we added in punch's. Finally moving with kicks.

We bowed out and that was it.

Now after the kali class was finished, we talked about training in general at this school. The discussion eventually got around to pressure testing. Which is were I asked, as directly and pointedly as I could. Do you pressure test and spar. The instructor said yes. Now since we were talking about wing chun, I asked, if they meant chi sau. They said no, they do chi sau and free sparring with scaling contact. Depending on who is sparring and their skill level.