Tradition v Progress

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Silver_no2, Mar 11, 2002.

1. Silver_no2

Silver_no2 Avenging Angel

Being relatively new to the martial arts (I have been training for a mere 2 years and a month) I am intigued by the constant discussion between thoughs I will term the "traditionalists" and those I will term the "modernists". The crux of the debate is simple. Should a martial art follow the teaching of its founder to the letter and therefore preserve the art as it was originally taught (traditionalist view) or should it be looking to constantly adapt and evolve (modernist view):confused:

I have my own opinions which, as you have probably guessed by now, I will be sharing with you all, but I am interested in what other people have to say first. Please respond to this as it is my first attempt at starting a thread! (Be gentle!):D

2. Silver_no2

Silver_no2 Avenging Angel

I'LL TRY THAT AGAIN WITHOUT THE SILLY SPELLING MISTAKES! (DOH!)

Being relatively new to the martial arts (I have been training for a mere 2 years and a month) I am intrigued by the constant discussion between those I will term the "traditionalists" and those I will term the "modernists". The crux of the debate is simple - "Should a martial art follow the teaching of its founder to the letter and therefore preserve the art as it was originally taught (traditionalist view) or should it be looking to constantly adapt and evolve (modernist view)?"

I have my own opinions which, as you have probably guessed by now, I will be sharing with you all, but I am interested in what other people have to say first. Please respond to this as it is my first attempt at starting a thread! (Be gentle!)

3. Andrew Green

Andrew Green Member

Seems odd that those founders didn't stick to there teachers teachings. They adapted what they learnt, often from more than one source, and taught their interpretation.

Preserving is a fairly modern 'tradition'