Tournaments

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by Kwajman, Jan 31, 2005.

1. Kwajman

Kwajman Penguin in paradise....

I've been watching a lot of tournament websites and more and more are offering "physically challenged" divisions. Has anyone competed in these or have opinions about them. I have a friend who is visually impaired and may want to go to a major tournament that offers this division in the spring, but he doesn't know what to expect.

2. Goat

Goat Valued Member

I have never competed in one since I would not qualify (although I am a disabled Vet it is not a disability that would keep me from competing in the regular divisions.) I did however judge a Weapons/Disabled/Men’s 30-40 division once at a fairly large local tournament. From a judges point of view we were told to look only at the execution of the form and presentation and not to look on the difficulty of the form as a major factor. Confidence, poise, determination, respect, sportsmanship, spirit, showmanship, appearance, imagination, technique etc. are judged within the confines of their capability. It is my thought that many people don't want to be treated totally differently because they are disabled. Competition in the Martial Arts gives people a greater sense of independence and confidence. Martial Arts are already great in this respect so why not include absolutely everyone.