To jog or not to jog?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by bluedog, Jul 25, 2008.

1. bluedog

bluedog New Member

Right I'm studying jeet kune do. For my cardio sessions, I jog for half an hour and then do basic punches/kicks etc in the air for another half an hour. (I have no bag)

But I know that even a little bit of jogging takes it's toll on the knee joints and also if done with speed the punches are a helluva lot more exhausting than jogging is.

So I was thinking that I might as well drop jogging completely and replace it with even more basic strikes since it seems more effective anyway.

But I know that boxers do a lot of jogging, I don't know why though? If there's a good reason for them to do so, I guess it would probably apply to me too?

I guess it's always handy to be a good runner just in case you need to flee like the wind from an armed mob though lol!

2. newy085

newy085 Valued Member

The main reason I can see for jogging, is developing/using different muscles in a different way, does your basic training involve free moving, or are you puching from a stationary position. If you are in the one stop punch, your legs probably aren't getting much benefit, like when your jogging, your arms/upper body isn't getting much benefit. If anything, I would add another half hour of body weight exercises (push-ups, chin-ups, sit-ups, dips and squats).

Also if your not feeling the benefits of it, maybe try HIIT/Tabata intervals (sprint for 20sec jog/walk for 10sec and repeat). You'll be sucking air pretty heavy after, but you'll notice a much bigger gain over a few weeks.

3. liero

liero Valued Member

jogging will develop your cardio, endurance. It can help strengthen your leg muscles.

I dont do a great deal of running but it is a helpful fitness training tool.

Do you do your punches infront of a mirror, to watch your form?

4. bluedog

bluedog New Member

Yeah, I form check in a mirror, it's good to be able to keep it tight when exhausted. :)