Tiny Sister needs help Learnig Self Defense

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Grammish, Mar 31, 2009.

1. Grammish

Grammish Valued Member

My younger sister is going to college out of state next fall, and she's a little bit worried about being alone in an environment where she might not be able to protect herself from assault in the event that she can't run away.

At 5 feet tall with a dancer's build, she isn't very imposing, but she's in good physical shape and was a competition level dancer and gymnast before quitting to dedicate more time to school. Currently, spends a lot of time riding horses, which toughens you up a bit. She also used to run cross country, and made it to state once.

She is a believer in nonviolence, and has displayed interest in Aikido. She also thinks that Tai Chi is cool, though she won't say much about it since I started learning it. Both of these take a long time to learn (especially Tai Chi), however, and she only has until fall to practice.

Her biggest problem is her size. She's TINY, and so anything art that requires a lot of force or weight won't work well for her.

Do you know a martial art that someone that small could learn to use to defend herself so soon?

2. stephenk

stephenk Valued Member

Buy her this book: The Gift of Fear

Amazon.com: The Gift of Fear: Gavin De Becker: Your Store

Reading this book will do more than 30 mins with big brother showing her some techniques could ever do.

3. John Titchen

John Titchen Still Learning Supporter

Or if they are out of stock, De Becker's Protecting the Gift.

4. Frodocious

Frodocious She who MUST be obeyed! Moderator Supporter