Thoughts on Silat from a Malaysian Pesilat...

Discussion in 'Silat' started by pakarilusi, Apr 11, 2010.

1. pakarilusi

pakarilusi Valued Member

First of all, lemme introduce myself. I'm a Malay guy, born and bred in Malaysia, in my mid thirties (and going 18!:cool:)... I'm a Professional Actor and a Magician (as in David Blaine, not sorcery..).

Btw, I'm in Malaysia as I type this. In Selangor (near Kuala Lumpur) to be exact, to those who are in the know about Malaysia...

I've read with great interest the thoughts and experiences of the many here on their "journey" in learning Silat, my Native Martial Art... We all have to walk our journeys, hope yours is filled with happiness and meaning...

Now, for my thoughts on Silat as a person of the heritage here in one of Silat's native Countries (Indonesia and Brunei being the others)...

My experience has been in my Family's Silat style (no name to it as yet) and Silat Harimau Berantai under Guru Jak Othman... Some might know Guru Jak quite well here... Right as of this moment, I'm studying another Silat style but will tell you more about that once I "tamat" (finish the basics)...

I also do a little JKD/Kali and BJJ here so I've an idea of other disciplines... Was once upon a time a TKD Black Belt in my schooling days... :eek:

Silat is certainly the generic term for the Malay Martial Arts here... There are so many styles and they are so different from one another that we'd be forgiven if we start to get a little lost on what Silat "really is"...

I've found, imho, Silat to be the best and the worst Martial Art at different times. It can be the most effective self defense tactic out there or the most close-minded "Classical Mess" there is... But that's my experience though...

But I will contradict myself now...