The Spear in Tai Chi Chuan

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by aaradia, Aug 1, 2018.

1. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

I just started learning a spear form for Tai Chi. And I am half remembering things mentioned in past threads, but searches are not finding them.

Basically, I am interested in the use of the spear in TCC. I seem to remember others saying it is a more traditional weapon, not a newer addition. Am I remembering right? My GM wrote an article where he says the spear was an older more traditional weapon, but having it codified - so to speak - with a form came a bit later. Although I am not exactly sure if the bit later was still early on. The form I am learning about is the one mentioned in this article and seems to be different from the Yang family spear he mentions. If I am understanding him correctly.

The Tai Chi Spear - Plum Blossom International Federation

At first, I was a bit reluctant to learn it, because it didn't seem very TCC like. But I decided that I was focusing on the wrong things and being too close minded. I was focusing on specific moves, and not principles. Once I came to that realization, I am realizing the spear has a lot to teach me.

Another thing it is teaching me is ambidexterity with it. Because all the Staff and spear forms I know in CLF have me holding the spear with the point to the right, while this has me holding it with the point to the left.

Anyways in addition to my questions above, I thought maybe this thread could be a place for anyone to discuss anything about their experiences with the spear in TCC.

Do you like it or not? And why?

Posting clips of the spear in your lineage maybe?

Here is a bit of an exhibition showing part of the spear form I am learning.

ned likes this.
  2. David Harrison

David Harrison MAPper without portfolio