TFA nit picking

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Late for dinner, Dec 30, 2015.

1. Late for dinner

Late for dinner Valued Member

OK I'm not an expert on Star Wars but I hate it when movies seem to be confusing enough that you have to ignore lots of stuff to make the plot believable.

So here's your chance to show me that this isn't really important stuff and that things hold together even with the nits that seem to be popping up in my head.

Here goes the first one..

So what IS going on here? Is this movie about a coup attempt by the vestiges of the armies that supported the empire but now serve the republic? Are they ticked off that the republic is sort of friendly with the rebels that brought the empire down? They are the same storm troopers (or not since they used to all be clones didn't they?) and they were the ones that supported the empire? The first order seems to be a fascist group within the armed forces that has been infiltrated/aligned with the sith guy who is their supreme leader. The emperor was a sith and gained control of the republic senate before becoming declared the emperor. Perhaps the supreme leader was a similar character that was present within the military.

And speaking further on the military, doesn't it seem quite odd how you have a soldier/storm trooper who has been indoctrinated since childhood in supporting the cause who all of a sudden has a 180 degree change of culture(Fin) which comes across much like a samurai deciding that it's wrong to kill in the middle of his first major battle. So he was previously on latrine duty etc...does that make one betray the causes that he was brought up to believe in.. in really is a stretch that soldiers would be that easily swayed/fickle.

Come on people, help me make sense of this..

Ok a bit of an over ramble.. I wait for you who have seen the movie to come to my aid!!

LFD

Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
  2. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

The Plot: