Testing question

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Ninja01, May 18, 2016.

1. Ninja01

Ninja01 Becky

This question is in regards to my Taekwondo testing, but I figured having a response from different perspectives in the martial arts world, rather then simply the TKD section may help me with my decision.

My school is actually a sister school, my Master was the student of our Grand Master, Kang (pronounced Kong). All testing is still done in front of Kang, he still deligates the prices, etc. I've been training at my school for over twelve years.

At my dojang it takes about three years to receive a black belt, although every individual varies so it could take longer. An additional 2 for 2nd, an additional 3 for third, and so on.

I received my black belt in 2007, and my 2nd Dan in 2009. Training 5 days a few, a few hours a day. Both tests are ridiculously expensive. It's just under $200 for 1st, and just under $300 for 2nd. You get the idea. Therefore, I've put off testing. According the timeline I should be going for 4th by now, but I can't justify the cost. I just love training, I appreciate all martial arts, but TKD is my roots.

My instructor has been asking me more frequently if I ever plan on testing, and I haven't decided. I've told him it's the cost, but also the time, I haven't been doing my forms as consistantly.

Let me get to the point, I'm babling...He offered me another option: he could test me individually, and it would be half the cost. His test would be significantly different from GM Kang's. Through Kang it's more curriculum based, over the years the physical portion has been watered down to meet societies standards.. I guess people don't want to work hard anymore? His test would require sparring, kicks and board breaking, but it mostly focus's on the black belt forms.