techniques that don't work

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Darzeka, Jun 10, 2002.

1. Darzeka

Darzeka New Member

I have been training with my brother for around four months now (first grading on friday YAY). There is one lock that doesn't work on me at all - wristlock ( put your hand in front of you with the palm facing you and figers up. Then push on your hand, go with the joint so that your knuckles are facing you.)
    On every one else at the dojo it hurts them quite a bit but I feel nothing, apparantly my elbows are strong too and require a lot of pressure to cause pain to (dunno how that happened - I hyper extended them both playing cricket one day a few years ago, very painful) .

Was just wondering if anyone else has anything like this or a technique that doesn't always go as expected on everyone.

Or if you have any idea as to why my wrists can't be hurt in this manner.

2. pesilat

pesilat Active Member

Absolutely! Everyone has something that doesn't work very well ... and other things that work better that on other people. It's possible that your instructor isn't taking the optimal line (at least for you). There may be a line that'll work better on you.

This is why it's so important to not rely on any one thing. And to learn to flow. So that if you try something on someone and it doesn't work, you immediately and without hesitation flow to something else.

There are *no* guarantees in a fight.

Mike

3. LilBunnyRabbit

LilBunnyRabbit Old One

I find that I can slide out of most armlocks without too much trouble, I've got very flexible shoulders. Certain techniques just don't work on certain people.

4. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Ah - the search for the ultimate technique. The one that works for anyone on anyone all the time.

Sorry - it doesn't exist.

There are techniques that work better than others in certain situation for certain people or types of people.