[Tang Soo Do] What is the name of...

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by Cuchulain4, Sep 7, 2006.

1. Cuchulain4

Cuchulain4 Valued Member

What is the name of the really slow TSD form that you learn around 3rd gup? And is there a clip of it? I want to show it to my friend who does taijiquan and see if sees any resemblance.

2. Yossarian

Yossarian Valued Member

Must be one of the Chil Sung forms, since my org doesnt do them I have no idea when they are taught. I do know the first two and Chil Sung Ill Ro(first one) is quite slow in parts and does resemble Taiji. I studied Taiji for a year a while back and the opening moves can definately be found in either Sun or Yang(cant remember which I did a bit of both) basic forms. Im afraid i dont know any sites that have this form on video.

Come to think of it Sip Soo has some slow parts but imo is nothing like Taiji.

3. AdamR

AdamR Kwan Soo

That would make sense. To the best of my knowledge, we're taught Chil Sung Ee Ro at around 6th gup, and then Chil Sung Il Ro up around 3rd.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2006
  4. Cuchulain4

Cuchulain4 Valued Member

Chil Sung Il Ro is the one im thinking of. I cant find a clip if it anywhere tho. Anyone got one?

5. Yossarian

Yossarian Valued Member

I have a video of Master Mac doing Chil Sung Ill Ro on my computer. If you PM with your e-mail address ill send it to you, its only 2 meg.

6. Cuchulain4

Cuchulain4 Valued Member

The guy in the vid doesnt make it seem very taiji influenced. He seems to have quite a hard style. Some of the girls in my class make it look really graceful.

So how come you dont do the chil sung's at your dojang?

7. Yossarian

Yossarian Valued Member

We dont do the Chil Sungs or Yuk Ro hyung because we are from the WTDSA lineage and they never adopted them, we just do the Pyung ahns/bassai/naihanchi/karate hyung. I think it depends on when the org founder left the MDK. I learned the first two at a seminar a few years back and just practice them for fun.