[Tang Soo Do] Moo Duk Kwan

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by Slavist, May 9, 2005.

1. Slavist

Slavist New Member

Hello! I have been doing MDK Tae Kwon Do for several months now and I absolutely love it. I have also been researching other MA's just for the heck of it, especially Kuk Sool Won, Hapkido and Tang Soo Do. Maybe (not likely, considering I will be getting busier as college ends in two years and grad school/job kicks in) if I have time I will try to cross-train in either Tang Soo Do, Kuk Sool Won, or Hapkido.

Recently, while reading an article on Hwa Rang Do's origins, I found out that in the late 50's, early 60's One of the schools in Korea was Moo Duk Kwan Tang Soo Do and was created by the founder of the Moo Duk Kwan.
    The other schools at the time were Kong Soo Do and Oh Do Kwan Tae Kwon Do.

So, basically, my question is, is Tang Soo Do the same as Moo Duk Kwan Tae Kwon Do? They seem to have the same foundation, so how is it that they split up? Please note that I am not asking about TSD vs. TKD in general, I know that has already been debated to death. My question is very specific and relates to just the Moo Duk Kwan style of Tae Kwon Do and Tang Soo Do. Thanks in advance!

2. Topher

Topher allo!

When the Korean goverment wanted to unify all the Korean arts to create what would eventually become Tae Kwon Do, two Kwans refused to join, prefering to remain free from any political influence. The entire Moo Duk Kwan was one of those Kwans. A few high ranking students however did and they created the Tae Kwon Do Moo Duk Kwan. I'm not sure what elements they took from Tang Soo Do and Tae Kwon Do though. I would like to find out. Hope that answeres your question :)

Last edited: May 9, 2005
  3. Andy Cap

Andy Cap Valued Member