Taijiquan: Bullet or gun?

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by Dan Bian, May 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dan Bian

Dan Bian Neither Dan, nor Brian

Hi guys,
    I've had some experience in Karate and (Japanese) Jujutsu. This thread is not to take away from these arts, but instead to try and look at why comparatively few Taijiquan practitioners are able to develop realistic fighting applications.

I call what I do "Taijiquan", but to be frank, it's a mongrel derivative. As I stated above, my initial martial exposure came from Japanese styles of Karate and Jujutsu. However, most likely due to my young age at the time, I was never really able to 'get' how to appy the techniques. It all just seemed like a bit of a jumble. A dozen or so kicks, various punch combinations, blocks, throws etc. I had these 'bullets' that could hurt an opponent, but my delivery system wasn't effective.

When I started learning Taiji, I gave up all my other practice and focused everything into my new practice. It's been about 8 or so years now, and having been fortunate enough to train with a few excellent Taiji instructors, I've been able to learn how Taiji is applied combatively.

What I'm also finding is that Taiji practice is giving me greater insight into how the techniques I learnt before could be applied.

It's been said before that Taiji can be a great supplement to other martial practice.
    Add to that the fact that a number of the 'great' taiji masters had background in other martial practice before taking up taiji (Yang Luchan, Sun Lutang, Wu ChuanYou to name a couple) - this leads me to ask, is Taijiquan better suited as a delivery system for other martial practice, rather than as a 'standalone' art?

2. Johnno

Johnno Valued Member