Tai chi?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Hapkido Student, Jul 15, 2005.

1. Hapkido Student

Hapkido Student New Member

Im interested in tai chi not for self defense but more for relaxation and connecting body and mind can some1 tell me a style of tai chi that would do this and what advantages tai chi has on your body and mind ..thank you in advance :cool:

2. jsmith

jsmith Valued Member

I'm not an expert on tai chi (I only took it for a few months at a rec centre), but I think pretty much any tai chi you take will focus on the mind/body aspect. You have to go out of your way to find one that teaches self defense.

As for mind/body benefits someone with more experience can probably help you out more here, but the benefits I always hear are better posture, and better balance.

See if there is some sort of Tai Chi society in your area. You're probably better off finding out what Tai Chi is good in your area and doing that then deciding on a particular style and trying to find someone who teaches it.

3. reikislapper

reikislapper see you on the flypaper

Best person to ask is Taiji Butterfly, (sorry Nig.) but he knows a great deal about tai chi and also teaches it.

I've been doing tai chi for about 18 months now and it's great for relaxation but I do a lot of meditation at home which also works. I hope you find a good teacher and start learning a.s.a.p.
    lisa xx

4. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu

since I started taichi at 23 I've become more relaxed physically and mentally, my flexibilty and speed has improved. I've grown 2inches in height, and the only way I figured I got that was from my IT sitting posture throughout my life :D

also my blood pressure has dropped considerably.

I also do qigong breathing exercises and meditation as part of kungfu which crossed over into Taichi.

5. pete_e

pete_e New Member

Any style of tai chi is good for health and relaxation, providing it is taught properly.