Tai Chi Self Defence

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by TonyMc, Jul 5, 2011.

1. TonyMc

TonyMc Valued Member

My old Ninjitsu instructor told me for many years that Tai Chi if studied right is a very potent martial art. So with that in mind I harboured a yearning to learn about it even though most others said don't touch Tai Chi with a barge pole if I am looking for a martial art.

Well despite the negative advice I went to see a few different classes. I looked at a Wu class and a Yang class and was totally dissapointed. There is a Chen and a Wudang school not too far away but after what I have already seen I am I am feeling reluctant to even bother looking.

Has anyone else ever learned Tai Chi to be a functional martial art, or should I just forget it and find a Wing Chun school?

2. Rebel Wado

Rebel Wado Valued Member

I've found Tai Chi to be awesome stuff. But mostly I'm just a beginner when it comes to Tai Chi.

TonyMC, I think based on my experiences, what you might find to your liking is to find a Tai Chi instructor that has put in many years of hard style training before Tai Chi. Almost all the Tai Chi instructors I've had lessons under came from hard style like Muay Thai and Kajukenbo, then they moved more towards Tai Chi.

Since you have martial arts experience, I would suggest you try to find a Tai Chi instructor that has a background in Muay Thai. If you can find someone with ten years Muay Thai and 20 years Tai Chi or more, that would be just awesome.

3. inthespirit

inthespirit ignant

As RW suggested, it depends on the teacher. If you tell us where you are, maybe we can find someone you might like.

4. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Tai Chi is an awesome art, however finding yourself a good instructor will not be easy.
    Tai Chi is also a big investment in time before you will see satisfactory results.