Tai Chi school in the Los Angeles area?

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by Greetings!, Aug 13, 2015.

1. Greetings!

Greetings! Valued Member

Greetings everyone,

I do not know if I am allowed to ask the following question, regarding local referrals, here on MAP. Therefore, I guess that I’ll just go ahead and do so.

I have some martial arts experience in a few other martial arts.

Having heard, as well as seen, wonderful things about the beautiful martial art, Tai Chi, I am interested in learning Tai Chi, ultimately, for self defense purposes.

After only briefly exploring around my local area, I only see group classes for Tai Chi at, for instance, my local YMCA, where it appears that the emphasis is mainly on learning forms, with the student doing solo practice along with other students within the group class. I understand the importance of this. That being said, I never see any pairing up between partners to, for instance, work on together with each other various self defense techniques.

Therefore, does anyone know of a Tai Chi club or organization that emphasizes self defense techniques here in Los Angeles, or more specifically, the west Los Angeles area, or better yet, right here in my local neighborhood of Venice/Marina del Rey?

Thank you very much.

The best to all,
    Greetings!

2. Xue Sheng

Xue Sheng All weight is underside

Possibly with Chen Bing

3. Guitar Nado

Guitar Nado Valued Member

Hi Greetings,

I realized this isn't what you asked for (it's not Tai Chi) - but since you are in Marina Del Rey have you considered here : http://inosanto.com/ ? If I lived there I don't know if I could pass up trying classes there no matter what art I practiced. Might be that something they teach there checks off a lot of what you are looking for.

Best of luck to you!

4. EmptyHandGuy

EmptyHandGuy Valued Member

Had a quick google search and these mention training in push hands and martial/health aspects of tai chi.

5. Ultima Ratio

Ultima Ratio New Member