Tai Chi both sides?

Discussion in 'Tai chi' started by franksv, Feb 26, 2006.

1. franksv

franksv Valued Member

I am interested to hear what your thoughts are on doing your tai chi forms on both sides(whatever style you do).The fellow that is teaching me tc is more of a senoir student than a sifu.He has been doing tc 5 years and has never tried or had an interest in doing it the other direction.As I get closer to attaining the complete yang style short form,I am wondering if I should consider training both left and right?Do any of you folks do this,why or why not?Either way,what are your thoughts on this?

Frank

2. Taiji Butterfly

Taiji Butterfly Banned Banned

Definitely do right and left handed to get balance in body and mind plus flexibility when fighting. I started learning left hand side after quite a long period so I would suggest to get your right hand stable first then introduce left hand. Others may disagree, of course.
    I once read Cheng Man Ching saying left handed was a bad idea, but as far as I know most styles encourage doing both sides... :)
    Peace
    :Angel:

3. EmptyHandGuy

EmptyHandGuy Valued Member

So what is this left and right thing? Is this when you do your form again but the opposite way around? If so, what does this add? Sorry if this sounds newbie like, but I am :p

4. liokault

liokault Banned Banned

This adds value because 'most' forms do not equally work both sides of the body.

As such, if the form is the main part of your practice you will develop one side of your body in a different way to the other.

5. franksv

franksv Valued Member

I am also thinking that practicing the other way/side,not only trains both sides but also doubles your material without having to learn a new form/style.It gives you the same stuff to work on but in a whole new manner.

6. liokault

liokault Banned Banned

Well not really.