Surviving kicks whilst on the floor

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by Paul Genge, Jun 7, 2005.

1. Paul Genge

Paul Genge Banned Banned

2. BackFistMonkey

BackFistMonkey Valued Member

surviving kicking from the ground

Interesting concepts , we do a fair amount of ground work in the Hapkido school I am training in now , most of the kick defenses we learn from the ground involve interception and/or evasion ( keep in mind I am a lowly little newb in Hapkido just barely getting dry behind the ears ) . I like the concepts presented in the text except I think that utilitizing these concepts would be usefull only with proper conditioning and training .

The video seems to show trapping , interception and evasion ... the things I am learning in Hapkido except I am being taught not to expose my back as much while prone . I could only see one or two examples of rolling out of effective kicking ranges ( either away or towards ) while recieving the kick as the text describes . Do I need to look more carefully ?

Thanks for sharing

BackFistMonkey

Last edited: Jun 7, 2005
  3. gojuman

gojuman Valued Member

I did not see the video of the kicks on the ground attached to the article. I did see the other videos. If systema means goofy then I guess they were doing what they are suposed to be doing.
    Look at the knife defenses. There are 10 separate attacks. If the defender is able to survive half of them in reallity I would be surprised. In the first 4 techniques pictured he leaves the knife completely alone. I know he is going soft for demo purposes, but the likelyhood of these techniques working is very remote.
    Some of the gun defenses were less silly, but the grips shown in control of the weapon can best be described as chipmonky.
    I am on a crusade. If you dont get out of the way, then control the weapon then dissarm you are asking for trouble.

4. Paul Genge

Paul Genge Banned Banned