street

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by cbraves85, Aug 4, 2003.

1. cbraves85

cbraves85 Valued Member

I was thinking of joining a tae kwon do/ kickboxing school in my area. I was wondering if this would be effective in sel defence/ street fighting or just competition?

2. Andrew Green

Andrew Green Member

Depends on what they are doing and what you mean by "effective"

3. Hwoarang

Hwoarang New Member

Look, the best defense is to go away....never go to a martial art class if you want to kick some a**** it will not help.

4. mma_ryan

mma_ryan New Member

hi all i am pretty much new to this website and yehh
    i absolutly agree with the above statement
    well i am a student of kick boxing and one thing tht i ve learn is u learn the most from actuall sparring and i think tht tae kwon do/ kickboxing will help u on the street but it also will depend on how u are being trained
    and another this is i recoment any type of martial art because it also helps alot with your confidence
    Ryan

5. alcapone

alcapone New Member

cbraves85 - I currently practice TaeKwonDo and was practicing Kickboxing a few months ago. I would recommend both for self defence, but, to be honest, when it comes to defending yourself on the street, a beginner kickboxer would be more "effective" than a beginner TKD practitioner (in my opinion).

At the end of the day, if you're drunk, walking out of a pub and someone starts on you, the last thing you should do is try a flashy reverse roundhouse kick or a hook kick, the chances are you'll land on your ass, then you'll be in serious sh*t! U will get your head stamped on!!!

I believe kickboxing is brilliant for self defence, or "street fighting". TKD is also excellent, but once you have reached a certain level in your training. I say this only because of the lack of emphasis on punching at the lower grades.

Kickboxing for a quick solution. TKD if you want to be dedicated. If you stick at it, TKD is a formidable MA to be trained in.