Stick life-expectancy?

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by progdan, Jun 1, 2009.

1. progdan

progdan Valued Member

Obviously wacking sticks against people, pads and other sticks is going to cause wear and tear on the sticks themselves, just wondering how often people here end up needing to replace them? I have a pair of rattan sticks and I've been training for a couple of months now and they're just about had it, but that's not even with ultra-intense training, what about some of you other guys, how long do they last? And is one type better to get when I replace them?

2. d0ugbug

d0ugbug learning to smile

When I was tought, and in no way was this FMA but just stick work I never used the same sticks for everything. I had the following :

Rattan for demo work - anything else and I found they fall apart if your blasting away with them

Foam for sparring

Hickory / Red Oak for pad work, drills and to help get used to the weight and speed. I also have a pair made from solid nylon

I could be wrong but i found that was the best use for me and when I was taught, as i said in no way shape or foam am I a FM practitioner

3. progdan

progdan Valued Member

Actually we have foam ones for sparring also, but some of the drills we use the rattan sticks with a partner also. I'm not worried about it, I was just interested in how everyone else gets on with their sticks. :)

4. d0ugbug

progdan you want to get a set of these made :

[​IMG]

Solid nylon with aluminium or brass caps, these are custom made by me :)

5. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

I've had rattan sticks last for years and other rattan sticks snap right in half on their first night (which is pretty unusual for rattan in the first place).

But a few months sounds reasonable enough.