speed training

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by kabba kick, Aug 24, 2004.

1. kabba kick

kabba kick New Member

as the topic says,is there anyway to train speed? ive studied all the different kick and movement techniques but im still not where id like to be

2. Desipio

Desipio New Member

as a person not very conscious of his own body ("What, I have hair?!?!")... I dont even understand hwo you can train to be faster... it seems like strength training is easy and guranteed... but how can you make your muscles move faster? or how do you improve your reaction time?!?!

3. Sanitarium

Sanitarium New Member

Just do things quicker. :D

4. Commander Zigg

Commander Zigg New Member

You can help reaction time by playing first person shooters (now that's my kind of training). My reaction time used to be terrible. Recently I started playing games like Doom 3 and UT2k4. My reaction time has improved by a lot. However, training speed would probably need physical exercise. I would suggest, like Sanitarium suggested, just to do things quicker. Time your kicks and punches, or have somebody time them for you. Then you just work on snapping the moves out there and after some time of training, time yourself again and see if you've improved. Also. work on using your hips/other parts of your body to speed up your strikes. However, I'm just making this stuff up, so maybe we should wait for a real fitness person to come by before you try anything.

5. animefreak88

animefreak88 Valued Member

being flexible will help too.

6. Sanitarium

Sanitarium New Member

You can do drills like punching pieces of paper (held up) and trying to put out candles with the air in front of a punch.

7. punchfast

punchfast New Member

For Martial Arts "Speed" Training, why not use the Speed Bag (speed ball)??

http://www.speedbagcentral.com/Tips_FocusedWorkouts.html#B