Sparring Kits

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Gadetgirl, Aug 14, 2021.

1. Gadetgirl

Gadetgirl New Member

I have been doing mixed martial arts for about 3 years, mainly for fitness and flexibility.

This week I was told in my lesson that I could not use my own sparring kit (CE marked) but had to use their own branded sparring kit. (I have been allowed to use my own kit before and no one has said anything!)

Is this a normal thing to do?!?

It will also prevent me grading any higher as I will need a sparring kit at the higher belts grading, which annoys me as this was not mentioned in the contract.

I do not want to buy their kit because:
    1. I already have one which is perfectly fine.
    2. theirs is well over twice the price of other kits (and not CE marked)
    3. their helmet is really uncomfortable!

axelb and Grond like this.
  2. Flying Crane

Flying Crane Well-Known Member

For what it’s worth, I think you are justified in being annoyed, all things being equal. Meaning: if the quality of your own kit is equal to or better than what they are selling, and is appropriate for the type of sparring/training that you are doing in their class. If there is a tangible reason why your kit is inappropriate for the type of training, then they may have a legitimate reason to insist that you buy theirs. See if you can get a very clear answer from them.

If they cannot give you a real answer and this is simply a way to force you to buy something, then yes, you are right to be annoyed. What does that mean in the long run? Will you be disallowed from training in their school? Will you be excluded from aspects of the training that will hamper your development? Is that acceptable to you?

It is their turf and their rules. You might need to accept it for what it is, or go somewhere else. But that doesn’t mean you aren’t right to be annoyed.

Grond and Gadetgirl like this.
  3. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award