Someone just starting out...

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by MustangFa1con, May 28, 2003.

1. MustangFa1con

MustangFa1con New Member

Hi, I'm new to martial arts and am trying to find out what style would best suit me for what I'm looking for. I've been looking on-line a lot and reading too, trying to research what avenue I should go down, since I am expecting to put a lot of time and effort into this. I am trying to learn an effective, very practicle fighting style that works would be beneficial in a real confrontation...I'm trying to learn how to fight basically, for self defense and also for some excersice, but excersise is not my main goal really. So, the schools near me in New Hampshire are as follows:

-Tae Kwon Do
    -Shaolin Kenpo Karate
    -Enshudo Jujitsu
    -Japanees Karate
    -Okinawan Karate
    -Budo Taijutsu
    -Sayok Kali

The style I've been looking into lately is the Shaolin Kenpo. I've pretty much ruled out the Tae Kwon Do, the Jujitsu (since its not a really quality school), and I'm not down between the ninjutsu, the karate, and the kenpo. The Sayok Kali place turned out not to actually train specifically Kali, but only incorporate Kali into their "combative concepts" class which they say is good for people who want to add on to their exhisting martial arts skills by learning a their system which includes shoot fighting/catch wrestling/kali/etc...can someone here give feedback/input? Thanks

2. grandmaster mat

grandmaster mat wataaaahhh!!

i can only say something about tae kwon do really, its a shame its a crappy school mate, would of been worth going, everyone has said this so many times but if u want to be a good fighter u have to train in a kicking martial art, a punching martial art and a grappling martial art, like tae kwon do, wing chun and BJJ

3. Sweeet

Sweeet Valued Member

Hmm.... incoming biased opinion...