Should I pass?

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Rhineville, Feb 25, 2004.

1. Rhineville

Rhineville Valued Member

Okay, here it is...

I'm a college student who attends school in a different town than where my dojo is located. Obviously, during the week I can't attend class (although I practice a little bit on my own), but I do go home on the weekends and train as much as humanly possible.

Here's the thing; I'm going for my blue belt grading this weekend and I have a little problem. I don't really know my basics that well.

Don't get too angry just yet, I know all my basics (punches, kicks, blocks, etc.,) but I'm only a little familiar with oyo ido, kihon ido and ipon kumite. My sensei stresses that It won't matter that much, as long as I have shown a genuine effort and improvement over the last little while I should have no problem.

I disagree.

I really don't think I should pass because of the lack of time I've spent in the dojo. I also think that if my sensei yells out "OYO IDO NUMBER FIVE!" I should know exactly what to do.

So, if everything else is perfect, but the basics are nearly absent...

SHOULD I PASS?!
    (please don't pull any punches)

2. gojuman

gojuman Valued Member

By the sounds of things you are an adult student. Correct?
    If this is the case and what you say is true and if you were a student of mine, I would suggest that you postphone tesing until you feel more confident. Having said this, sometimes progessing in rank has more to do with attitude and relative progression than keeping to a strict sylibus. There are instances that I would look at a student and say, well he does'nt know as many kata as others at this rank, but he certainly demonstrates other technique equal to or above this rank, so I might go ahead and do the promotion.