Should I buy this bag?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Slavist, Jun 4, 2005.

1. Slavist

Slavist New Member

Hello! I don't have much money to spend, but I am considering buying this bag. I am no expert so any input will be welcomed. I am planning on using it mainly for kicking.

In addition, whould I buy the unfilled version? We have a lot of rags lying around, so that might be preferrable. Thanks for the input

http://store.titleboxing.com/canvasheavybag.html

2. Sever

Sever Valued Member

I'm not a big fan of canvas bags, personally. Have a look on eBay - I got a 5' leather one for £26 so I'm sure you can find a good deal in your area

3. Slavist

Slavist New Member

Last edited: Jun 4, 2005
  4. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

Avoid canvas.

Try to stick to a leather bag.
    Get one already filled.
    Save longer if you have to get a bag that will last you pretty much forever.

5. ThaiBxr

ThaiBxr Banned Banned

I'm a much bigger fan of standing bags for kicking as you can build up your speed and technique better with them by kicking in rapid succession without having to restabilize the bag. I bought an XXL wavemaster and I love it.

6. inteq9

inteq9 165lb of TROUBLE!

But if you can attatch a bungee cord to the bottom of your bag it is superior.

7. Ikken Hisatsu

Ikken Hisatsu New Member

wavemaster bags fall over. and besides, your opponent isnt going to be standing still when you do multiple kicks so why should the bag?

8. inteq9

inteq9 165lb of TROUBLE!

Wavemasters just don't have the feel of a real bag. They are soft and spongy. A real heavy bag isnt so much... Just ask my shins.

9. Ikken Hisatsu

Ikken Hisatsu New Member

that too, they arent really hard enough. theres a reason you wont find a wavemaster at pretty much any kickboxing or muay thai gym.

10. ThaiBxr

ThaiBxr Banned Banned