shotokan vs. american kenpo

Discussion in 'Karate' started by FireFox101, Aug 21, 2005.

1. FireFox101

FireFox101 New Member

I'm a new MA student and have 2 options, a very small, expensive American Kenpo school, or a big, cheap shotokan school. I'm a little confused, being told that 'kenpo has 95% of karate techniques and more'. The kenpo school doesn't have a website, but the shotokan's is www.newcastlekarate.com. I took a trial class at the kenpo and plan on taking a shotokan tommorow. The general atmosphere at the kenpo place is a little too laid back for me, considering I'm mainly doing this to stay in shape, and learn effective fighting techniques. Any advice?

2. Slindsay

Slindsay All violence is necessary

Never trust a man with purple socks.

Err, to be a little more serious I would say that if you want to learn something effective then it's just gonna come down to how the two places train, beggar to techniques, I know hundreds of techniques, I would use maybe 4 in a fight and those are the one's I'm used to sparring with (Smack in the face, knee, elbow, fall over and roll round on the floor till I can smack the guy in the face and he cant reciprocate the favour).

So yeah, look for the place that trains you harder, ignore there talk of techniques and look to see how they teach you to apply those techniques.

Bad points to watch out for are when you ask about sparring they respond with something about their techniques being to dangerous (No they aren't), when you ask about ground fighting and grappling they repsond with some vague mumbling about pressure points to counter it and multiple attackers invalidating it and when you ask about contracts you end up signing very long ones with phrases like "No other martial training to be undertaken" and last a long time.

3. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter