Shins still not used to the 300!

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by KaliKuntaw, Dec 7, 2013.

1. KaliKuntaw

KaliKuntaw Valued Member

I had good training night and got in my 300+ round kicks ( low and high) on my heavy bag last night.
    My shins are still not used to the work but i did improve both in power and i did not feel pain this time around from the impact. My insteps and shins did however swell with small amount of seromas.
    No problems a good rub down with my thai oil didnt take care of.
    Im surprised that my shins still get puffy after the 300 round kicks.
    Oh well....at least there was no pain to slow down my power shots.

I have been training for many years but i have not been doing 300 rounds on heavy bags. I used to break up the 300 into different kicks.
    But since i seek to condition my shins i have decided to concentrate heavy bag work to conditioning shins mostly. Flowing in the art of 8 limbs is tricky but im getting there. My time in JKD has given me a solid base but the difference in conditioning is fantastic.

Anyway, do you use thai oil after a training session?
    I have been making Dee Da Jow for a few years and this year started making my thai oil here at home. Bot have their uses. If you havent used either for bruising you might want to give it a try.

Last edited: Dec 7, 2013
  2. Dave76

Dave76 Valued Member

My Thai instructor told me they rub their shins with fresh Red Tummeric root to aid in conditioning of shins. He also warned it would stain my shins red. I never tried it because I could never find any to buy. That was quite a few years ago now, you could probably buy some online now.

3. fire cobra

fire cobra Valued Member

Not a lot of shin conditioning is needed in Muay Thai,just kick the heavy bag as you are doing and kick some good sturdy Thai Pads thats enough,Its far more important to NOT kick the opponents blocks!:)

4. KaliKuntaw

KaliKuntaw Valued Member