Semi Contact vs Full Contact

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by CyCloNe, Jul 12, 2002.

1. CyCloNe

CyCloNe New Member

I have been training now for about the last 2 months in a kickboxing club.

It would appear that although the training focuses on the madjority of full contact kickboxing in terms of the padwork, techniques, ring craft etc, the club only ever seems to enter the semi contact 'points' matches, either point stop or continuous.

My question is simple, how would someone make it into the full contact arena? Would it mean finding another club? Or would it simply mean getting the club to enter me in the full contact bouts?

Im guessing that associations etc will come into play, but with the full contact sport sweeping accross the UK, its something I really want a piece of.

2. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

Hey Cyclone,

It takes guts to go for Full Contact, but it sounds like youv'e got them.

As opposed to looking for associations or getting your present club to sling you into the first match they find, I really think you should find a good 'pro' coach.

Semi and points matches are a great starting point, but the steepest learning curve will be getting used to someone actually trying to knock you out, and getting hit hard. Yes you get hit pretty hard in points matches, but it's a different bag all together in Full Contact. If I remember rightly, you are a heavy weight, and you could meet some really big punchers.

I fought Pele Reid in a Semi Match a few years back, and he nearly took my head off. He turned Pro Boxer later, and had a few televised matches before he got KOed. He was a monster.

What I'm getting at is you need the right team in the corner, not just the heart and willpower.

Good Luck

Andy

3. mmafiter

mmafiter New Member

Good response Andy.:)

4. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

Thanks MMAFiter

Hi 5 ;)

5. Saz

Saz Nerd Admin