Self Training for Sparring Classes or Change Clubs?

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by liero, Mar 15, 2019.

1. liero

liero Valued Member

About 10 months ago I joined a boxing club. I've been coaching TKD at a high level for the past 2-3 years but due to injuries had not trained. I picked boxing as it was a striking style which wouldn't aggravate my injuries.

Due to work commitments I trained inconsistently for 6 months but learnt the foundation skills reasonably well and built up my cardio conditioning. In the last 4 months I was able to up my training to 3-5 times per week and felt ready to get into some sparring (there are 2 nights per week of sparring classes).

Previously I liked the classes, the coaches were active fighters in the state or national teams or active pro's and the training and instruction was of a high calibre. Even the skills sessions involved a lot of mitt/pad work and focussed on developing sparring skills.

About 2 months ago the crop of coaches left, and a new group from the same gym (at different locations) have taken over. The sparring classes are still reasonable. We drill and learn useful things, and there seems to be somewhat of a skill progression week to week. Though the training is not as high quality as previously. Also, in the free sparring there is less focus on skill/strategy development and the coach is happy for students to go hard, he rarely pulls people up on excessive contact (e.g. a student training for fights going too hard on a Noob...in this case I am the noob).

My bigger issue is with the Skills/Conditioning Classes. A massive number of people from the other gym have come across and there is a much larger "conditioning boxing" focus. We only do heavy bag work for rounds with some bodyweight calisthenics thrown in. There's very little technical correction, and in the 2-3 months since the new coaches took over I have never done any mitt/pad work outside of the sparring classes.