Self Taught in Shotokan: Is he ready

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Gekido03, May 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gekido03

Gekido03 New Member

My friend has been self teaching himself in shotokan for over a year now and the time of his blackbelt testing is approching. Do you think he is ready.

Consider: He has acception skill in Shotokan

He has the feel for combat from countless street fights

He Has two years of experience in Aikido/Aiki-jujutsu

He has one first place in forms a number of times in tournaments

2. hedgehogey

hedgehogey Banned Banned

Teaching HIMSELF shotokan?

Ok all the issues of correction of improper technique, blablabla, i'll leave to the actual karateka.

Now, first of all, unless you are in the top 99.99% of people in the world, you can't earn a black belt in a year and expect it to mean anything.

Second of all, the whole idea of self taught falls apart because there's noone to spar with!

3. Mike Flanagan

Mike Flanagan Valued Member

I'm in complete agreement with Hedge again. This is just too silly for words.

How can you teach yourself Shotokan?
    How can you be ready for Shodan in a year?

When I was a kid I taught myself to play the piano. My piano playing sucks. There are some things you simply have to have a teacher for.

Mike

4. johndoch

johndoch upurs

Hmm, will I even consider that this thread is a serious question??

Nah dont think so :(

5. I do not believe that this person could have a grasp of the 11 or so kata which should be second nature to him by now, nor do I believe that he could perform the 4 very stringent sparring requirements of most Orgs (3/5 step, 1 step, semi-free and free).

Who says?

A street fight will not prepare you for the control, speed and timing required for a BB grading. Sparring (as most will profess) is a world away from street fighting!

Two forms which are massivly detached from Shotokan.

Where (out or interest)?