Rhabdomyolysis and crossfit

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Dead_pool, Sep 22, 2013.

1. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

https://medium.com/p/97bcce70356d

Interesting article on Rhabdomyolysis and crossfit,

The one crossfit class I attended has some great technical pointers, and quite a low intensity, BUT safety for newbs didnt seem to be central, inso much that I was encouraged to clean and jerk with a incorrectly loaded barbell (20kg one side 15 on the other)

Does anyone with more experience of crossfit want to add to this with there own experiences?

2. Infesticon #1

Infesticon #1 Majesticon

Sounds scary. I'm glad I don't train that hard!

3. Mangosteen

Mangosteen Hold strong not

i worked as a coach at a crossfit place for a while and they didnt do really silly things like incorrect plate loading but i found that many of the issues came from inexperienced young coaches buying into the weird mentality of crossfit: "push your self till you cant push and then collapse"

it's weird cos a lot of interviews i've read with the top athletes in the crossfit games suggest that you spend a long while just building a basic strength base before you ever get into the endurance side of things

a lot of guys that do well at crossfit built their base in other sports

loading was so low it made stuff boring. clients were amazed i could continually do 3 mins of squat snatches with 40kg without a warm up.
    (if they had been actually strength training they would realise that 40kg was the warm up)

i also found it weird when working that there were no attention given to each individuals goals during a class, it was just a "get good at working out/crossfit" thing. if one guy wants to be the best at crossfit and another at judo and wanted some extra training on the side then surely the judo guy should do less crossfit and more specific stuff and recovery.