Recovering from dislocated shoulder

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by cxw, Jul 30, 2004.

1. cxw

cxw Valued Member

I dislocated my shoulder yesterday whilst doing dumbbell presses. Its the 2nd time I've done this shoulder. I realise now that I straightened my arm too much, but even so ít shouldn't have been enough pressure to dislocate a good shoulder.

I'm currently a beginner in Muay Thai.

For those that have had multiple dislocations of a shoulder:
    - What did you do for recovery?
    - Have any of you had shoulder sugery? If so, was it a success?

Also, realistically, how long before I'll be training again (assuming no surgery). By memory it will be a few months.

2. cybermonk

cybermonk New Member

I have gotten my shoulder out of place a few times, usually after the sifu puts it back in place I go home and ice it for about a month trying to put as little stress as possible in the joint, I apply jow to it but im not sure if this is recommended. After about a month im usually ready to go back.

3. KickChick

KickChick Valued Member

If your shoulder was truly dislocated, with the head all of the way out of the socket, it wouldn't "pop" back in.

Most people can't put a dislocated shoulder back in place by themselves (or with help from another person) and it's difficult for even a physician to get it back in place.

What might have occured is that the exertion placed against the shoulder caused the head to slip momentarily out of the socket, that is, become partially dislocated, or subluxated. When the shoulder head slides partially out and then snaps back in, it stretches the rotator cuff muscles, and you have the same problem as an overuse injury. When the rotator cuff muscles are now overstretched, the next time the shoulder takes the brunt of another exertion, the head is likely to slide out again. Each time the rotator cuff gets looser and looser until finally your shoulder is in danger of really dislocating.