PW's Yoga log

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Prizewriter, Dec 31, 2015.

1. Prizewriter

Prizewriter Moved on

So I've been doing yoga for about 8 years. Usually at my very best I was doing classes twice a week, but the norm was one (plus practice at home)

Luckily where I now live has 4 or 5 very good full time yoga studios. I've never had access to those before. In the new year, I'm going to try and go to 4classes a week. I think one class a week can really benefit a person, but the consensus is that in order to really fully get in to postures, you should try and do 4 sessions a week

The yoga studios really only offer Vinyasa yoga/hot yoga (not Bikram). This is fine and I don't want to start off with a negative mind set. That said Ashtanga or Iyengar 4 times a week would be interesting.

Physically, like most guys I'm stiff in my hamstrings and hips (much better than I use to be though) and my core could do with tightening up.

Mentally, like most people I have a lot going on. This year (2016) I am taking voluntary redundancy and looking for work (or possibly throwing myself full time in to academia), so it can potentially be a stressful year. I'm normally not a stress head but for sure yoga is the most relaxing thing I have ever done. I've fallen asleep in class before. In fact, I would go to sleep in bed right after my old Ashtanga class and lie facing the ceiling. In the morning, I would be in the exact same position, the bed sheets undisturbed. I literally hadn't moved all night. So I am looking to develop my Pranayama too as this is the big thing for relaxing (for me).

I've read that public logs can help with motivation. I'm not lacking motivation right now but it's good to guard against complacency :)

2. Frodocious

Frodocious She who MUST be obeyed! Moderator Supporter

I read the title as PW's 'Yoda' log. Whoops!

Good luck with your motivation for the coming year! :)

3. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

Go for it, man! Good luck. :)