Practicing without Permission

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Em-em, Sep 13, 2003.

1. Em-em

Em-em I wanna go home!

I'm a seventeen female and practicing karate for two and a half years. When I graduated High School, I was sixteen years old and had to move to the big city for my college education.

I really would love to keep on training but my parents won't approve of it because they want me to focus on my academics and we're a bit low on budget.

What I did was I slashed some money off my allowance to pay the monthly fee without my parent's permission.

If you were my instructor, what would be your reaction? Will you let me stop? I'm already a yellow belt. (I was in green with my last school.)

Sometimes I feel guilty for not telling my parents. I will be able to talk to them sooner, but I'm afraid they'll let me stop practice.

2. Saz

Saz Nerd Admin

Personally, I think there's worse things you could be doing without your parents permission than training. If you are paying for it out of your allowance, and your school work isn't suffering as a result, I don't see a problem.

I'm just finishing a masters degree, and I've managed to keep training throughout. I trained through my degree too. I've had to take time off at exam/coursework deadline times, but my sensei was very understanding. You just need to find a balance. Training when you have an exam the next day isn't a wise move for example.

If I was your instructor, I wouldn't want to loose a student who was as keen to train as you seem to be. Maybe you could get your instructor to have a chat with your parents about the situation. They're just concerned for your future, and maybe he could help them see you can study and train at the same time.

Welcome to MAP by the way :)

3. Pacificshore

Pacificshore Hit n RUN!