Practicing Ukemi At Home?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by Hapuka, Feb 26, 2016.

1. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

I'm relatively new to judo so my Ukemi is rubbish and I need to practice. The problem is I don't have really anything to practice on and being summer the ground is like concrete at the moment and gym mats are pretty darn expensive.

The other thing too Is I don't like rolling, sounds silly, but I'm worried that I'll end up breaking my neck. I keep forgetting where to place my hands for Mae Kaiten Ukemi and how far apart my legs are and what angle to start from. Its all very complicated (for me at least).:dunno:

2. Rebel Wado

Rebel Wado Valued Member

Rolling in a confined space is pretty much going to be restricted to stretching slowly. Try staying close to the ground (no need to stand up each time if stretching). Does something like the following help? Provided you don't have a neck injury, some of the exercises seem to work in confined spaces and even hard ground. Just keep everything slow and steady.

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxkOHw0PKjk"]USF Ukemi Core Training - YouTube[/ame]

Edit: That first exercise is hard one for me. I tend to flip over. It does work to core too.

Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  3. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

Found an old mattress in my garage, its small but long enough to do ukemi from my knees. Hand positioning is where I keep tripping up. It would be helpful to have a guide that showed a top down perspective of hand placement, but I haven't found anything like that on the net.

4. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

Those are some tough exercises, I keep rolling on the outside of the shoulder and veering off course half way through the roll. My shoulders get a bit sore rolling like that.

Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  5. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

What kind of ukemi are we talking about here?

For judo you just need to slap the mat as hard as you can with your arm(s) roughly 45deg from your torso.