Portsmouth Muay Thai.

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by mortimer657, Mar 20, 2011.

1. mortimer657

mortimer657 Valued Member

Hi all,

I recently started training in Muay Thai Boxing after years of conventional boxing (over 20 years) and chose this place to train:

http://www.portsmouththaiboxing.co.uk/

Seems a really good place, started there last week.Plenty of bag and pad work, instructor seems good (based on my limited knowledge of martial arts OTHER than Boxing) but noticed a thread on here by Master Betty, excerpt below:

" the "muay thai" coach in portsmouth is one of master skens. Despite all the good things the man has done for the sport in this country he still teaches a load of horse dung and his students are usually clones. A lot of the better coaches in the country sometimes refer to it as sken kwon do. "

This has prompted a little concern for me. The last thing i want to do is train somewhere that i wont ultimately progress and could be hindrance to eventually competing. I definately want to compete, as its familiar territory for me, with a nod towards my time competing in boxing (as a civilian and also whilst serving in the Army). Pressure testing is the ultimate feedback device In my opinion.

I was advised on one of my other threads to ask in this, the Muay Thai forum, if anyone has trained at this place? Anyone heard of the instructor? Has anyone heard of the Club at all? Has anyone fought anyone from that club in interclubs etc?

Any info and advice gratefully received.

Morti

2. ChangNam

ChangNam Valued Member

Sken Kwon Do. That sounds terrible in my ears...

You guys do normal Muay Thai. Or is this some fancy home made style ??

3. ChangNam

ChangNam Valued Member

Come and learn from an instructor of Master Sken. Sounds like a big JOKE to me !!