Planning to start weight training

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Madao13, Sep 30, 2012.

1. Madao13

Madao13 Valued Member

I am not sure how to begin my post.
    Here is the deal. My exams period is over so it's time for me to resume my boxing training, but I am thinking to put it aside for the time being and pick up weight training in order to make some drastic changes to my body, that I've been planning for a long time now.
    I have no prior experience, so the first thing I did was to read several threads of this forum and do some search and now here I am, asking for your advice.:)

My goal is to put about 10 kgs for a start, although I feel I need around 20 kgs in order to catch my proper weight.
    I mainly want to bulk up and make my body looking sharp, but I prefer to do that through strength training than training only for the sake of looking good, if you know what I mean.

So here is some information about me.
    - I am really tall. About 2,2 meters.
    - I weight 81 kgs.
    - I eat about 3-4 meals a day, but there are also days that I only eat 2 times.
    - When I eat a breakfast, it's a big cup of cereal, oatmeal, some kinds of grains and sliced pieces of green apple.
    - I haven't been doing any exersice consistently for about 4 months.
    Only some shadowboxing rounds I do daily and some push ups whenever I feel like it. I was never very fit to begin with.
    I could do 25 pushups maximum when I was training in the boxing gym and I had a relatively low stamina and muscle endurance.
    So I think that weight training will help me a lot in general and I would be a different guy when I pick up boxing again. Here's hoping..

Now, what I have in mind to do is a 3 times a week program of about 1 hour of exersice. I was thinking to try either the 5x5 stronglifts program or a program Kuma recently posted http://www.muscleandstrength.com/wo...t-jim-wendlers-5-3-1-powerlifting-system.html .