Overwhelmed in sparring - how to react?

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by Northai, Oct 30, 2012.

1. Northai

Northai New Member

Hi everyone! I started Thaiboxing a couple of months ago and I love it:) To the point where I am almost obsessed haha:) Which is good because I have a lot to learn.

As a beginner I sure have a lot of weaknesses but the thing that I'm really trying to figure out now is how to react in sparring when you are being overwhelmed with punches or backed into a corner. In my first sparring sessions my hands went everywhere and I kind of turned my back a couple of times, which is not good:) Frustrating because it seemed as I reacted on instinct, not out of real fear, if you know what I mean.

Then I discovered that I dont mind taking a couple of punches and decided to focus on staying calm and just learn absorb the punches without freaking out, which I have succeded with the last couple of sessions. However, I am sure there must be a better way out of these situations, I just have no idea how:) The last sessions I decided to punch or kick my way out and it worked a couple of times. Tried to do something at least, because some of the sparring partners dont stop until you fire back. If I manage to back someone into a corner in sparring I throw maybe 3 or 4 shots and then back off.

Any pointers to how I should think and behave in situations like these? Focus on moving out of the way or countering? I guess this is a quite common problem for beginners?

2. Simon

Simon Moved on Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

3. Northai

Northai New Member

4. Teflon

Teflon Valued Member

You should definitely try to strike back if your opponent hits and stays in range. MT scoring favours whoever 'won the exchange' so to speak, which means landing the last hit in the exchange and ending it on your terms is a very positive thing to show the judges. Also, a lot of people will keep attacking you until you give them reason to back off, by hitting them usually.