Overweight

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Big will aikido, Aug 28, 2016.

1. Big will aikido

Big will aikido New Member

Hi all, I have been training in Aikido for nearly 7 years and currently at 2nd kyu, I took my last grading in 2014. I have always wanted to achieve my Dan grade but not in an ego way like some but I have become very dissaponted with the whole set up.
    I am a big lad over weight but I never give up, always respect my sempai and senses's. For the past two years I have been told I am over weight and unfit and this has really knocked my confidence. I love aikido and found it to be a great release for daily pressures but feel I can't get over the comments of some seniors in my organisation. Also my confidence is low which has never been an issue as I played semi professional rugby, but grading does mean a lot to me and the achievement of a Dan grade is essential for progression, can anyone give me feedback on how to overcome my issues or is it time to find a new martial art, or just enjoy my training

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

Being told you are overweight by those you look up to for guidance is bullying and it's possible these people are being unkind to mask their own insecurities.

First off I'd ask if you are happy with your weight, or just unhappy with the comments.

3. Knee Rider

Knee Rider Valued Member Supporter

Nothing wrong with being large mate.

Size is an advantage, as is having a background in contact sport to a high level.

People putting you down over that say more about their own insecurities than about percieved deficiencies in you.

If you enjoy Aikido then stick with it but I'd put money on you being able to paste everyone in your dojo on size and rugby experience alone (based on my experiences of aikidoka).

If they are giving you jip after 7yrs then maybe give em the finger and try judo.

Keep your heart and joints healthy and keep on trucking!

4. SWC Sifu Ben