opening new dojo - living there to save rent?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by 333kenshin, Feb 22, 2020.

1. 333kenshin

333kenshin New Member

Hi folks,
    I'm a 2nd dan karate instructor aspiring to open a branch studio of the school where I currently teach and train. I've seen 2 common refrains I've heard across several discussion boards about starting up a studio:

1) start small by renting a room per hour in say a school, gym, or church to build up numbers before signing a lease for dedicated store space. This totally makes sense from a cash flow perspective - paying for capacity you're not in position to use is just burning through savings.

2) the most cost-effective way to draw in more clientele is location conducive to foot traffic with compelling signage. Ideally next to an anchor like a supermarket or bookstore

Unfortunately (1) and (2) seems to contradict one another, since a rented room in a school/gym/church limits you on both foot traffic and signage.

One method I've heard of squaring that circle is where the studio has a back room or attic space where the instructor actually lives in order to save on rent. I wouldn't want to do this long term, but could imagine doing it for the first year or so of operations while the business is finding its legs and getting enrollment numbers up.

Can anyone comment on the concerns with regards to legality, logistics, ethics, and perception in such an arrangement?

Thanks!
    -Dave

PS: I'm mindful of the fact that, given the recent bankruptcy of Boy Scouts of America, there is an added need for mindfulness against any form of impropriety where kids are involved. The space will be marked Private, remain locked during all business hours, and accessible to only myself.

2. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

The common way to do this is rent space by the hour until you have enough people interested to pay for the rent in a dedicated space.