Old school knife sharpener, weapons training.

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by CrowZer0, Dec 12, 2012.

1. CrowZer0

CrowZer0 Assume formlessness.

I have very little experience with weapons training, nothing really recent at all, I did some fencing at Uni, but It's not relevant to what I need, also some ceremonial flashy looking stuff with short swords, staffs and a kwando briefly when I did Kung Fu (7 years ago).

Now I'm looking for a similar weapon or some advice in training with an old school knife sharpener which looks very similar to this [​IMG]

From the look of it, my handle is a lot better, a lot more comfortable, it really looks like a sword handle my one, and has a metal pommel of sorts and a wooden handle, mine also seems longer, and by the looks of it is also probably heavier.

I feel much more comfortable fighting without weapons I actually prefer it. But I would like to look into some sort of weapons training, and was wondering for a knife sharpener, should I use it like a short sword, or some sort of short staff?

TL;DR - I feel very comfortable without a weapon, I have a very heavy comfortable feeling knife sharpener (feels like a weapon) and want some training with it (I mess around with it). Was wondering, how should I use it? Like a sword? Or a stick?

2. Kuniku

Kuniku The Hairy Jujutsuka

being a blunt weapon I'd lean towards more escrima/tambo style techniques, blunt strikes and various locking techniques would probably work well. and dont forget to use the "roughness" to just file away at your opponent! :3

3. CrowZer0