****o Ryu Karate and Aikido

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by gorinnosho, Dec 28, 2007.

1. gorinnosho

gorinnosho Kendo Addict

Hi, i'm currently studying ****o Ryu karate, and i was looking for a locking art to complement it with. By coincidence an Aikido guy is starting a dojo in my youth club (where my karate dojo is at). Considering the club also offers Judo, but judo doesn't suit my body size/shape. Anyway, i borrowed a book about Aikido from my local library (it's about Yoshinkan, but i don't know the style the teacher teaches) and the more i read into it the less i know about it than i though,so i have some questions:
    1. What are the four main styles of Aikido and the differences between them?
    2.while practicing do i need a hukama?
    3. what is the ranking system like?
    4. how much of the techniques is internal and how much does physical strength help?
    more questions will come thanks in advance

2. koyo

koyo Passed away, but always remembered. RIP.

Check out the martial art of aikido threads here on MAP. If you have the choice have a look at Iwama aikido it includes study of the sword and stick.

regards koyo

Traditional aikido, however you MUST find a good teacher as many have changed the art to suit themselves.
    Yoshinkan has a structured manner of teaching that a karateka could fit into well
    Yoseikan has techniques from karate and judo
    Tomoki aikido has competition agains knife
    Kr aikido lays no claim to be a martial art

I train in traditional aikido as it was when it first came out of Japan this includes strikes and weapons training.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2007
  3. gorinnosho

gorinnosho Kendo Addict

thanks koyo, very helpful as usual.
    many thanks

4. gorinnosho

gorinnosho Kendo Addict

question:

will my med weight karate gi with stand training? like with the throughs and all.

5. koyo