No rest for the wicked (at least in the summer).

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Aldwyn, May 18, 2012.

1. Aldwyn

Aldwyn New Member

So tomorrow i'm going to reboot my training. I've took a week off, so i'm very refreshed and can't wait to get back to training. This will be the first time i try a properly structured strength program, but i'm not a complete novice, and have been stalling with the weights for quite some time. Since i'll be away from home, and won't do any boxing/wrestling (which might have been the reason i didn't progress with weights since last summer), i can focus on my strength.

Stats: 23 years old, 76.5 kg/169lbs (was 75.5 prior to the week off, which was also off from diet :rolleyes:) at 175 cm/ 5'9'', some of that is fat that i would like to loose eventually, but not extremely much, i'd estimate about 15-16%, but that's a wild guess.

I will make a deload on all weights, and start the Madcow Intermediate/Bill Star Linear programm with some small alterations. I'll lift on Tuesdays-Thursdays-Saturdays instead of MWF for reasons of conviniece, and my 1st workout will be tomorrow (Sat), so i have 2 days to recover from soreness after a week's pause (i also simply can't wait for the next Tuesday..)).

The 5 RMs are 85kg(185lbs) on bench press, 52.5kg(115lbs) on overhead press, 110kgs (240lbs) on squat, 72.5kgs (160lbs) on barbell row.

I don't know my RMs on push press and power clean, that will be present in the programm, so i will start light, work on technique and later see what i can do. Assuming something the maxes about 60kgs on both is pretty safe i think, since last time i checked i can pseudo "clean" (shrug from hang followed by a supinated grip curl) 50kg for more than 10 reps.

For the record i can also currently deadlift about 110-120kgs 1x5 classical style, the alltime record was a 185kg single, but that was long ago and i don't do deadlifts much anymore because they cause me lower back problems.