no bagua for you

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by Dmalo, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Dmalo

Dmalo Valued Member

Hey guys been along time since i've been back on here, any who the reason for this is i just want to find out, if its possible to learn ba gua, when there is NO ONE in your area that knows it. So whats the next best thing??

2. Johnno

Johnno Valued Member

The next best thing will be whatever you choose to do out of what IS available in your area. There's no point deciding that any one particular MA is the one for you, if there is no-one in your area to teach it to you.

So, what do you have to choose from?

3. embra

embra Valued Member

I have been going to the odd Bagua class - there are not many running in Scotland, and right now Im in Belgium - so I am not an expert.

Bagua is just impossible to learn without credible tuition, don't even waste your time thinking about it.

I presume that it is the evasive aspects of Bagua which interest you. If so, good Aikido or FMA are probably the simplest alternative route - to get into your head-set, triangular footwork off-line evasion. You might find Systema usefull, but it is too slow and soft for me. Some Taichi - that teach 9 palace step pushing hands is very similar to Bagua - the 9 steps are the 8 Bagua points plus the centre point.

However, this is only scratching the outer surface of Bagua. The coiling muscular contraction/expansion springy body development or neigung, can be very up-front - this simply cannot be observed - it has to experienced via credible instruction.

Bagua is a pretty unique art, but its damm difficult to find credible tuition e.g. my teacher in Scotland, travels in London once a month for tuition.

Last edited: Jun 20, 2012
  4. Sketco

Sketco Banned Banned

Can we just make a sticky of "martial arts X isn't taught in my area. Is it still possible to learn it from books/videos/tapes?" and have a giant response that says "NO." that would be nice.

5. Falcord