[Newbie post] Training Weapons

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by maxwolfie, Apr 2, 2011.

1. maxwolfie

maxwolfie New Member

Hi there,

I have been attending class for approx 4 months now, and I am now looking to buy some wooden training weapons. Does anyone have any recommendations for a "basic kit", i.e. bokken, wooden training knife etc?

I am based in Australia but happy to purchase from overseas for a good deal.

Regards,

Greg

2. Chris Parker

Chris Parker Valued Member

Hi Greg,

The basic kit for us is bokken, hanbo, and training knife (modern, rather than tanto), with other weapons being purchased as required (kusari fundo, kodachi, hojo, bo, etc). For the most part, I get the weapons from Japan (www.bokkenshop.com), as I haven't seen anything I'm really happy with in Australia (for bokken etc) for many years. The training knives are sourced through the Amok group.

That said, each different school and instructor will have their own version of a "basic kit" (most likely similar to this), so the first place to ask is your instructor. They will have an idea of what you should get, and possibly preferences as to where you should get it from (personally, I inspect any outside [not purchased by me] weapons before allowing any of them to be used in class).

3. Kobudo

Kobudo Valued Member

It depends on what your instructor covers in your dojo.

In our GBK dojo our basic kit is bokken, hanbo, rokushakubo, then as you progress fukuro shinai.

I wouldn't worry about it too much, most instructors that teach weapon systems have a set of spares for newcomers, they'll be able to tell you what you need, I'm surprised you don't already have an idea of this after 4 months training

4. maxwolfie

maxwolfie New Member

Yep, it's the bokken, hanbo and training knife that I am after.

5. Chris Parker

Cool. Who are you with? Your instructor will probably have a supplier that they prefer, or at least a recommendation for you.

6. maxwolfie

maxwolfie New Member