New Here

Discussion in 'Karate' started by binski20, Oct 31, 2002.

1. binski20

binski20 Valued Member

I am new to the boards here, and just thought I would introduce myself along with my question.
    Real name is Byron. I studied Taekwondo in high school for about 2 years up to a green belt. I have currently been boxing for about a year and a half. I have a long term gf and a 4 month old son. I am looking to pursue martial arts once again, no dignity, respect or teachings about imporving the inner self in boxing.

Here is my question:
    The only karate school I have here is a shotokan one, associated with the JSA (is that right?). Was wondering if someone could explain shotokan ie. basic style. I also wondered if there are any sweeps or throws taught in it?

Thanks in advance, I look forward to sharing with all of you.

Keep Training!
    binski20

2. waya

waya Valued Member

Welcome to the forum Byron.
    I trained Shotokan as my primary system for quite some time. I was taught most very basic sweeps and throws, but I understand some schools do go more in depth in this. It's a rigid system , but, as with basically any system, definitely can be an effective art for self defense if it's taught properly. There are several people on the forum I believe still actively training in different Shotokan schools who can probably be alot of help to you with the specifics of how it's currently taught. I'm training Hapkido more than anything else myself at the moment.

Rob

3. TkdWarrior

TkdWarrior Valued Member

welcome to the forum byron...
    i m curious why u lookin specifically for "Shotakan"?? if u try out u'll find other arts...like Wing Chun, Mantis, Hung Gar, TKD, Hapkido, Taichi these arts hav teacher almost every where(expect minee :( ) especially in west, u hav to find out...
    -TkdWarrior-

4. Freeform

Freeform Fully operational War-Pig Supporter