New 2nd Dan

Discussion in 'Karate' started by marmaduke, Nov 25, 2010.

1. marmaduke

marmaduke Valued Member

:happy:Hi all. Haven't been here for a while. My son just past his 2nd Dan testing last night. Kwan Mu Kan/Kajukenbo Karate. And he's only 19.

:happy::happy::happy:

2. mawashi

mawashi Valued Member

my compliments, but I still think that 19 is too soon

3. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

I passed my 2nd Dan in Kukkiwon Taekwondo at 19. I started training when I was four. Maybe we shouldn't judge peoples' experience or skills solely on their age, eh? :)

4. liero

liero Valued Member

congrtats!

There are some very talented 19 year olds out there!

Do you have a video of the grading marmaduke?

5. mawashi

mawashi Valued Member

no matter how young you were when you started.
    A second dan is too important to give it to a boy, sorry
    because dan is not about talent, skill and experience only, it's much more about maturity

Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  6. SeongIn

SeongIn Banned Banned

19 is an adult. How about treating him as an adult and not patronizing him.

While I cannot speak to his specific abilities, there is nothing about being 19 at 2nd degree black belt that is uncommon, improper, or unreasonable.

congrats!

7. liero

liero Valued Member

I agree I got my 2nd dan at 21...there is really nothing too different between mine and his son in terms of age.

3 years of life is nothing!

I meerly wish to see the grading material to compare it too my own and some recently added dan grading material (stuartA) and see how things compared...

8. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter

Well done to him! If he can do what he needs to do to be a second dan, he's a second dan, no matter what anyone says.

9. mawashi

mawashi Valued Member

so why not 10 th dan ?

please, let be serious ...and above all a little humility

10. Moosey

If he meets the criteria for a 10th dan, why not?