Nervous about 1st grading!

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Drusilla, Jul 12, 2006.

1. Drusilla

Drusilla Valued Member

Ok, so you all can gather that I'm really new at TKD. :)
    As you can see from my sig I'm hoping to have my 1st grading on August 19th, and basically, I'm really scared!
    I don't know why I am so nervous, as I know that the worst that can happen is that I don't pass and have to re-take it 3 months later. However, I'm still really unsure about a lot of the techniques and I know that it must look really sloppy when I do it compared to what it should look like.
    Last night in class we learned the last of the techniques that we'll need to learn for our 1st grading, Sajo-Jirugi No.2. I'd only just managed to get the hang of Sajo-Jirugi No.1 when my instructor goes and throws in another one! LOL.
    I think it all just comes down to confidence, as I can pretty much remember all the techniques when I'm standing in my front room when no-one is looking, however, stand me in a room where people are watching and I forget all I'm supposed to be doing and my arms and legs begin to resemble an octopus!
    I don't really know if this post is going anywhere really, but as I've read others say on here, I don't have anyone else to talk to who understands what I mean.
    Ok, enough random ramblings.
    Sorry. ;)

2. CKinnerley

CKinnerley Will fight for peace/food

It's really nothing to worry about, you've got an entire month left to work on your stuff remember, and trust me, by that time you'll have it all worked out. I'm not going to say your grading probably won't be a bit scary (I know mine was), but when it comes to the actual day, and you're standing there in your group waiting for the go, you'll get it no problem, it's so drilled in to your brain by then it's impossible to get wrong I find.

3. Drusilla

Drusilla Valued Member

Thanks for that CK, I really didn't think anyone was going to reply so quickly.